Hôtels à Coimbra, Portugal

La splendide ville de Coimbra se trouve juste au coeur du Portugal, à une vingtaine de kilomètres de la mer. Coimbra est une ville ancienne: fondée par les Romains, est devenue l'un des plus importants centres culturels de l'Europe lorsque en 1537 l'Université de Lisbonne a été transférée dans ses murs. Parmi les autres particularités, à Coimbra sont nés six des Rois du Portugal.

Coimbra, 150 000 habitants, sur la rivière Mondego, est célèbre grâce à l'Université. Depuis le XIVe siècle, lorsque l'Université de Lisbonne a été transférée à Coimbra, étudiants, intellectuels et engeignants ont permis que cette ville devienne l'un des coeurs de la culture universitaire éuropéenne. Encore aujourd'hui dizaines de millieurs d'étudiants arrivent ici du Portugal et de tout le continent, surtout avec les projets d'études Erasmus.

Coimbra est également célèbre grâce au Fado, le traditionnel chant nostalgique et mélancolique accompagné par la guitarra portuguésa et par la viola do fado. Le Fado est le symbole de cette ville, avec ses petites rues de cailloux et dans les bars de Baxia -le centre historique- et les nombreux monuments médiévaux et de la renaissance qui se trouvent presque partout.

Plus d'infos sur Coimbra

Un autre symbole de Coimbra sont les repúblicas, les maisons des étudiants. Leur origine est très ancienne, il s'agit de maisons économiques en location. Les repúblicas sont gérées directement par les étudiants et répresentent une sorte de zone franche où l'activité culturelle et sociale, la cohabitation et la liberté de mouvement sont bien vivantes. Ces maisons sont particulièrement respectées, au point que pendant la période de la dictature en Portugal (durée 50 ans et terminée en 1975) dans les repúblicas la police ne pouvait pas entrer et elles étaient utilisées comme refuge par les dissidents.

Coimbra est une ville qui respire la culture. Outre à l'université, il y a plusieurs monuments, cathédrales et églises, les témoignages historiques collectionnés dans le Museu Nacional di Machado de Castro. Coimbra a vu le passage des arabes et avec la Reconquête chrétienne et la Renaissance sont nés des palais comme le Mosteiro de Santa Cruz et le Palais Royal, la Bibliothèque Joanina et la Capela de S.Miguel avec les portails de style manuélin.

Dans la Baixa de Coimbra, le centre historique et commercial de la ville, entre les rues Rua da Sofia et Rua Ferreira Borges il y a de nombreux monuments tels que le Palais do Chiado et l'Arc de Almedina de l'époque arabe, mais également plusieures librairies anciennes et modernes, les magasins du shopping, les boutiques d'antiquité et des objet en céramique. A ne pas louper le Café de Santa Cruz, frequenté par les étudiants et les bohémiens.

La Cathédrale o Sé Velha -construction romane de 1162 avec splendids portails, nef et cloître- mérite absolument une visite. Il est très agréable se promener dans les petites ruelles près de la Sé Velha. La vie du soir et nocturne de Coimbra est très animée entre avril et septembre, lorsque le climat est plus doux. Les lieux les plus fréquentés sont près de Praca da Republica, la place centrale, derrière l'Université.

Environs

... et préparez vos bagages! Recevez les meilleures offres et les réductions directement via e-mail!

Coimbra - 109 Hôtels

Chambres d'hôtes/B&BGuesthouse Casa Pombal

Guesthouse Casa Pombal

Rua Das Flores 18, Coimbra

Le Guesthouse Casa Pombal vous accueille au cœur de Coimbra, dans une position particulière au sommet d'une colline. Il offre un accès facile aux principales attractions, un excellent rapport qualité / prix et...

Hôtel 4 étoilesVila Gale Coimbra

Vila Gale Coimbra

Rua Abel Dias Urbano, 20, Coimbra

Le Vila Galé Coimbra est situé au coeur de Coimbra et offre une vue agréable sur le fleuve Mondego. Un endroit idéal pour explorer la ville, il offre un accès Wi-Fi, un parking et réception 24 heures s/24.

Hôtel 3 étoilesHotel Oslo

Hotel Oslo

Av. Fernao de Magalhaes, 25, Coimbra

L'hôtel Oslo est un 3 étoiles à gestion familiale situé à seulement 50 m de la gare, à 5 minutes du monastère de Santa Cruz et à 2 minutes de la rivière Mondego. Avec un parking privé, accès à Internet...

Hôtel 2 étoilesHotel ibis Coimbra

Hotel ibis Coimbra

Avenida Emidio Navarro, Nº 70, Coimbra

L'hôtel Ibis Coimbra est situé non loin de la rivière Mondego et de la gare à 500 m de la vieille ville. Le couvent de Santa Clara et les ruines romaines de la ville sont tout près.

Hôtel 3 étoilesBest Western Hotel D. Luis

Best Western Hotel D. Luis

Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa, Coimbra

L'hôtel Best Western D. Luis Coimbra vous accueille à quelques minutes du centre-ville et à moins de 5 minutes en voiture du parc à thème dos Pequenitos Portugal. Un logement idéal pour les séjours...

Hôtel 4 étoilesTivoli Coimbra

Tivoli Coimbra

Rua João Machado Nº4, Coimbra

L'hôtel Tivoli Coimbra 4-star se trouve dans la ville historique de Coimbra, à proximité de la rivière Mondego et de la Rua da Sofia. Très apprécié par les voyageurs d'affaires ainsi que par les touristes...

Pink House

AppartementPink House

Rua Dr Jose de Almeida nº10 R/C, Coimbra

ArchiSuites

 ArchiSuites

Avenida João das Regras Nº74, Primeiro Andar, Coimbra

Casas da Alegria

AppartementCasas da Alegria

Rua Alegria nº 7, Coimbra

Villa Oliveira

 Villa Oliveira

Rua Carreirinhos, 3, Coimbra

Hotels in Coimbra, Portugal

In central Portugal, about twenty miles from the sea, the wonderful city of Coimbra is waiting for you. Coimbra is an old city: founded by the Romans, it has become one of the most important cultural centers of Europe in 1537, when the University of Lisbon moved within its walls. Among other peculiarities, Coimbra has given birth to six Kings of Portugal.

Coimbra, 150 000 inhabitants, on river Mondego, owes its fame and fortune to the University. Since the fourteenth century, when the University of Lisbon was transferred to Coimbra, students, intellectuals and teachers have turned this city in the heart of European university culture par excellence. Still nowadays there are tens of thousands of students coming here from all parts of Portugal and all over the continent, especially through the Erasmus project.

Coimbra is also known for the Fado, the traditional nostalgic and melancholic song accompanied by the guitarra portuguésa and the viola do fado. The Fado is the symbol of this city which can be listened to while walking among the cobbled streets and inns of the Baxia, the historical centre, or during the discovery of the many medieval and Renaissance monuments that you can find everywhere.

Further info about Coimbra

Another symbol of Coimbra are the repúblicas, the students' homes. Of ancient origins, they are known to be affordable rental houses. The repúblicas are managed directly by students and are a sort of free zone humming with cultural and social activities, coexistence and freedom of movement. Deference to these houses is such that during the period of the dictatorship in Portugal (lasted 50 years and over in 1975) the police could not enter the repúblicas, so they were used as shelter by the dissidents.

Coimbra is a city where you can breathe culture. In addition to the university, there are so many monuments, cathedrals and churches, as well as the historical collections kept in the Museu Nacional of Machado de Castro. In Coimbra, also the Arabs left a mark of their passage, while during the Christian Reconquest and the Renaissance have been erected buildings as the Mosteiro de Santa Cruz and the Royal Palace, the Joanina Library and the Capela de S. Miguel with Manueline portals.

In the Baixa of Coimbra, the historic and commercial center, on the streets of Rua da Sofia and Rua Ferreira Borges, you can admire great monuments as the Edifício do Chiado and the Arc de Almedina of the Arab era, but also the countless ancient and modern libraries , stores, crafts and ceramic shops. You cannot miss a stop at the Cafè de Santa Cruz, attended by students and bohémien.

It is worth visiting also the Cathedral, or Sé Velha, a Romanesque building dating back to the 1162, with its ornate portals, the nave, the cloister. Outside the Sé Velha there are narrow streets where you can enjoy pleasant walks. The evenings and night life in Coimbra is particularly lively between April and September, when the weather is milder. The most popular venues are around Praca da Republica, the central square, behind the university.

Surroundings

... and keep your bags ready! Receive our best travel deals, sales and offers in your inbox and enjoy your trip!

Coimbra - 109 Hotels

Bed and BreakfastGuesthouse Casa Pombal

Guesthouse Casa Pombal

Rua Das Flores 18, Coimbra

Guesthouse Casa Pombal is waiting for you in the heart of Coimbra, in a particular position on top of a hill. It offers easy access to major attractions, excellent value for money, and wireless Internet access.

4 star hotelVila Gale Coimbra

Vila Gale Coimbra

Rua Abel Dias Urbano, 20, Coimbra

The Vila Galé Coimbra is located in the heart of Coimbra and has a pleasant view over the river Mondego. This is a perfect location for exploring the city and offers free Wi-Fi access, parking and 24 hour...

3 star hotelHotel Oslo

Hotel Oslo

Av. Fernao de Magalhaes, 25, Coimbra

Oslo Hotel, 3 star family-run hotel in Coimbra, located only 50 m from the station, 5 minutes from the Monastery of Santa Cruz and 2 minutes from the river Mondego. With private parking, bike rental and wireless...

2 star hotelHotel ibis Coimbra

Hotel ibis Coimbra

Avenida Emidio Navarro, Nº 70, Coimbra

Not far from the Mondego River and the railway station Coimbra Parque, the Ibis Coimbra Hotel awaits you. Just 500 mt from the historical centre, this hotel allows easy access to the Convent of Santa Clara and the...

3 star hotelBest Western Hotel D. Luis

Best Western Hotel D. Luis

Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa, Coimbra

The Best Western Hotel D. Luìs Coimbra awaits you just minutes from downtown and less than 5 minutes drive from the theme park Portugal dos Pequenitos. Ideal accommodation for business or tourist stays, this...

4 star hotelTivoli Coimbra

Tivoli Coimbra

Rua João Machado Nº4, Coimbra

The 4-star hotel Tivoli Coimbra is located in the historic city of Coimbra, close to the river Mondego and Rua da Sofia. Much appreciated by both business and leisure travelers, this hotel offers a 24-hour...

Pink House

ApartmentPink House

Rua Dr Jose de Almeida nº10 R/C, Coimbra

ArchiSuites

 ArchiSuites

Avenida João das Regras Nº74, Primeiro Andar, Coimbra

Casas da Alegria

ApartmentCasas da Alegria

Rua Alegria nº 7, Coimbra

Villa Oliveira

 Villa Oliveira

Rua Carreirinhos, 3, Coimbra